Brain Drippings 2

Well my life has gotten really busy all of a sudden, what with going back to Cal Poly to study for an MBA, trying to get a career started, and working. I haven’t had as much spare time recently as I had been used to, and I’m not sure how often I’m going to be able to post new updates. I do have a couple of things I’m lining up, but don’t be surprised if I occasionally have to skip a week. Hopefully, once I get my groove with my new schedule things will work out.

In the meantime, since I am so busy, I figured now would be as good a time as any for another “Brain Drippings” post. These are all thoughts off the top of my head I’d like to share with everyone. Hope you enjoy!

So, we’ve all seen these, right?

When Mother Jones magazine released this secretly taped speech by Mitt Romney at a fundraiser event, it seemed like every news outlet was talking about what an embarrassment for Romney this was, what a shock his comments were, how it’s going to hurt him on Election Day, and so on.

Really?

Romney’s comments shouldn’t be a surprise or shock to anyone. He is only saying the same old stuff Republicans have been saying my whole life. I’m not claiming to agree with him – I certainly disagree on his characterization of Americans on welfare (as you will have no doubt guessed by now) – I’m just not shocked by his comments at all.

I mean, a conservative politician running on the Republican ticket and trying to appeal to conservative voters actually has conservative opinions? GASP! What has the world come to!

A few months ago, a YouTube user using the pseudonym “Sam Bacile” uploaded a trailer for a film called “Innocence of Muslims” that ridicules the Prophet Muhammad, his family, and his followers. The trailer remained just one anonymous video among many until the Egyptian news outlet al-Nas publicized it. Since then, there have been attacks on US embassies and consulates, including one that killed US Ambassador J Christopher Stevens in Libya; violent protests in Pakistan that have also led to deaths; and a bounty placed on the head of the filmmaker. It is all reminiscent of the “Danish cartoons” incident a few years ago.

But you know what I am happy about? For all the violence and rage, there are also Muslims in the Middle East and around the world that are condemning the violence and calling for restraint. Pakistani newspaper Dawn published an editorial asking “Why can’t we resort to saner ways to show our anger?” and saying “We have all become the laughing stock for the entire world… the donors and sponsors [of the film] wanted us to react exactly the way we did.” One protest in Kabul, Afghanistan saw a turnout of 500 protesters marching against the film – and no violence whatsoever.

I understand that the film is offensive and that making it was a jerk move. I agree that the film and its makers should be criticized. But I also think things like this are just not worth killing over, and I’m glad I’m not alone in thinking that.

On a much happier note, The Avengers comes out on DVD today! I can’t wait to buy my copy! Literally… I am positive that if I wait too long all the stores will be sold out. The movie, after all, raked in more than $1.5 billion at the box office, making it the third-highest grossing movie of all time, if you don’t adjust for inflation, which Hollywood never does.

I think it’s a pretty safe bet that Joss Whedon now has the freedom to make whatever movies he wants now, since in today’s Hollywood, box office success = power. I’m looking forward to seeing what he does next.

Another thing I’m looking forward to? There’s going to be a S.H.I.E.L.D. TV show on ABC. Yeah, that’s an actual thing that’s happening. Awesometastical!

So, J.C. Penney is in deep trouble. Their re-imagining of their business model has not paid off at all, and when I go to the one nearest where I live, it is always empty, with hardly a customer to be found.

And I totally called it!

2 Responses to Brain Drippings 2

  1. Pingback: Brain Drippings 3 « Cat Flag

  2. Pingback: Cat Flag’s Guide to Understanding Millennials: Brands that Fail Utterly at “Getting” Us | Cat Flag

Leave a Reply

